Uncategorized

Personal Statement

I have developed increasing interest for public relations, marketing and advertising over the past 4 years. I chose this course because I have always had passion and interest in careers that cover these subjects. I have researched what this course will lead to in the future and successful marketing managers too, because I am aiming as high as I can once I get into my career pathway.

The course I am studying at college has given me the opportunity to research, plan, write and design. From the start of my course I have been planning and researching, which has made me aware that it is an essential skill in media. I created mood-boards analyzing magazine front covers. I made plans by sketching how I want the magazine double page spreads that I create, to look. As I wrote a lot of articles and blogs for my final major project, hopefully the relevance of work will give me a head start in the course I will be studying.

I have worked in retail in various stores and developed my confidence with customers and the general public and improved my communication skills. I enjoy giving help and advice so this worked really well when it came to working. I can take lead of groups with no problem as I have done before working at Select Meadowhall, my first official job, where I had to take lead of a group of sales assistants working as my supervisor felt I was suitable for this.

I quickly adapt to any environment I am in because I am a friendly, confident person and enjoy interacting with people. I also work well independently, I can focus more on my own work and set myself goals within what I am doing at that moment. I am a very determined person with everything I do, whether it be college work, my job etc. I set myself standards and have to get everything done to the best quality that I possibly can. I don’t like leaving anything incomplete and I will put more of my time into it to finish it. I am also a quick learner and enjoy the challenges of learning new things. I am willing to learn and improve myself at all times. Others say I am honest, reliable and a good listener as well as a good communicator. My confidence has built up throughout my working time within the work environment and generally. My daily goals are to accomplish every task set and challenge myself further.

The skills I have gained from various jobs are all transferable and from research I have found that they will be needed for this course and future jobs in this sector. However, as good as I am at technology, I would like to carry on improving and widening my skills in this area.

I have always had an interest in photography and making sure each shot is at the perfect angle, has the perfect lighting and fits in the frame. A key essential to photography is editing skills, I usually edit photos on my mobile phone via Instagram after retouching and adjusting brightness and contrast levels.

I created a blog in October 2015 based on beauty because I feel I am good at makeup and love communicating about my experiences and passion with people. I realised if I put more time into making my blog and work look professional, the more people engage and visit my site. I enjoy writing to audiences of any age and adapting the style of my articles towards each age group. The understanding I have towards communities and individuals helps me write in a broad manner including content towards different crowds. I promoted my blog through social media such as Instagram and Twitter.

By giving me a place at your University you will be gaining a very hardworking, confident individual. My passion has always brought me success, as I hope to bring to you. I have chose to study in my home country however, if an opportunity arises I would consider studying abroad to gain more experience. After I have completed my course I want to take the path to possibly being a marketing assistant. I hope you consider me as I have a lot to offer.

https://www.shu.ac.uk/study-here/find-a-course/ba-honours-public-relations-and-media-fulltime

https://www.shu.ac.uk/study-here/find-a-course/ba-honours-marketing-communications-and-advertising-fulltime

Personal Statement Draft 2-

I have developed increasing interest for public relations, marketing and advertising over the past 4 years. I chose this course because I have always had passion and interest in careers that cover these subjects. I have researched what this course will lead to in the future and successful marketing managers too, because I am aiming as high as I can once I get into my career pathway.

The course I am studying at college has given me the opportunity to research, plan, write and design. From the start of my course I have been planning and researching, which has made me aware that it is an essential skill in media. I created mood-boards analyzing magazine front covers. I made plans by sketching how I want the magazine double page spreads that I create, to look. As I wrote a lot of articles and blogs for my final major project, hopefully the relevance of work will give me a head start in the course I will be studying.

I have worked in retail in various stores and developed my confidence with the general public and improved my communication skills. I enjoy giving help and advice so this worked really well when it came to working. I can take lead of groups with no problem as I have done before working at Select Meadowhall, where I had to take lead of a group of sales assistants working as my supervisor felt I was suitable for this.

I quickly adapt to any environment I am in because I am a friendly, confident person and enjoy interacting with people. I also work well independently, I can focus more on my own work and set myself goals within what I am doing at that moment. I am a very determined person with everything I do. I set myself standards and get everything done to the best quality that I possibly can. I don’t like leaving anything incomplete and I will put more of my time into it to finish it. I am also a quick learner and enjoy the challenges of learning new things. I am willing to learn and improve myself at all times. Others say I am honest, reliable and a good listener as well as a good communicator. My confidence has built up throughout my time within the work environment and generally. My daily goals are to accomplish every task set and challenge myself further.

The skills I have gained from various jobs are all transferable and from research I have found that they will be needed for this course and future jobs in this sector. However, as good as I am at technology, I would like to carry on widening my skills in this area.

I have always had an interest in photography and making sure each shot is at the perfect angle, has the perfect lighting and fits in the frame. A key essential to photography is editing skills, I usually edit photos on my mobile phone via Instagram after retouching and adjusting brightness and contrast levels.

I created a blog in October 2015 based on beauty because I feel I am good at makeup and love sharing my experiences and passion with people. I realised if I put more time into making my work look professional, the more people engage and visit my site. I enjoy writing to audiences of any age and adapting the style of my articles towards each age group. The understanding I have towards communities and individuals helps me write in a broad manner including content towards different crowds. I promoted my blog through social media such as Instagram and Twitter as I wanted to gain recognition.

By giving me a place at your University you will be gaining a very hardworking, confident individual. My passion has always brought me success, as I hope to bring to you. I have chose to study in my home country however, if an opportunity arises I would consider studying abroad to gain more experience. After I have completed my course I want to take the path to possibly being a marketing assistant. I hope you consider me as I have a lot to offer.

Leave a Reply

