Uncategorized

The Magazine Audience Research Project

My Choice of Topic and Title

  • Like the idea of how it is like a blog but in an article
  • A lot of girls will be interested in the makeup topic
  • Free advice of makeup tips and steps

 

My Use of Language

  • Laid back
  • Approachable
  • Informative
  • Talking direct to the audience
  • Informal- easier to understand

 

My Use of Colour

  • Kept white, minimalistic
  • Simple but effective

 

My Use of Fonts

  • Could experiment with colours
  • Matches the subject quite well
  • Doesn’t look cluttered
  • Same size
  • Arranged well

 

My Images

  • Good for the step by step
  • Contrast well, the colours
  • Set out well
  • Not too many, just enough images

 

The Overall Appeal of My Article

  • Text and images all fit in nicely
  • Gives good advice for makeup
  • Helps discover new makeup looks
  • The images used draw your attention to make you want to read it

 

What are the Main Strengths?

  • Picked a very popular subject
  • Targeted at a mass audience (with YouTube and blogs, social media etc.)
  • The images really draw the audience in

 

What Can I Improve On?

  • Bring a bit more colour in, background etc.

 

My Improvements and Semiotic Analysis of My Double Page Article

Before

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 10.08.52

Improving

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 10.28.02

I think adding a dark red sparkly background matches the Christmas/NYE times theme and also matches the lipstick worn in the image. The red colour used in my double page spread also represents passion. Passion for makeup. I have also changed the colour of text to make sure it is easy to read on the now red background.

AfterScreen Shot 2015-12-09 at 15.11.47.png

Here, I have added the headline and curved borders around 2 images with a black background to make them stand out. I have also made the “steps” fonts larger and changed the whole fonts to bold so it is easier to read.

Leave a Reply

